Local 2002 LGBTQ: Equality and Equity

Local 2002 LGBTQ: Equality and Equity

December 18, 2017 at 2:00 PM


Unifor Local 2002 LGBTQ committee held their first meeting on November 29, 2017 at the Local’s Headquarters in Toronto. Local 2002 President, Euila Leonard welcomed and congratulated the committee for coming together for their first meeting.

Kellie Scanlan – Unifor National liaison and proud LGBTQ member – joined the session and gave a presentation on the recommendations put forward by the National Pride Committee at Canada Council held in August 2017. The committee also reviewed a three-year strategic plan based on those recommendations.

Kevork Vahedjian was selected by his peers as committee chair and will be the primary contact for the Unifor 2002 LGBTQ. The committee is currently working on a communication strategy and will share once established. The local will also have a link for members to sign up to send / receive e-mail and also potentially join this committee in the future.

Unifor 20020 LGBTQ


Unifor is committed to representing all members, which includes creating safe and fair workplaces for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer (LGBTQ) union members.

We are proud of the work we do to confront homophobia and transphobia in the workplace. Unifor advocates for the Pride community in Canada. Unifor actively participates in Pride parades and holds national Pride conferences.


In Solidarity,

Your Unifor LGBTQ Committee,
Phil Ayotte, District 201, Winnipeg Airport
Joanne Goulet, District 205, Calgary Airport
Saul Santiago, District 301, Toronto Airport
Benoit Lapointe, District 401, Montreal Airport
Ferdinand Macaraig, District 616 Regina Airport / Saskatoon Airport
Colton Marshall, District 613, Kelowna Airport
Martin Melanson, District 508, Saint John Reservations
Krista Melvin, District 508, Saint John Reservations
Luis Garcia–Mendez, District 104, Vancouver Aeroplan
Carl Smith, District 104, Vancouver Aeroplan
Wade Ireland, Unifor Local 2002 Secretary Treasurer
Kevork Vahedjian, District 400, Montreal Reservations & LGBTQ Chairperson
Christine Bower, Liaison to the Executive Board
Euila Leonard, Unifor Local 2002 President


For more information, please contact:
Christine Bower, Liaison to the Executive Board





/17-12-18 LGBTQ Equality and Equity HTML en.txt