Air Canada: Greetings from the new Bargaining Committee

Air Canada: Greetings from the new Bargaining Committee

June 10, 2022 at 12:00 PM


The newly elected members of the Bargaining Committee held their first in-person meeting in Toronto on June 6. Members were also sworn-in for the upcoming term. The new Committee elected Benoit Lapointe as Chairperson, and once finalized the first meeting was underway to discuss new and ongoing issues impacting the membership. Also present at this meeting was Tammy Moore, President of Local 2002, and Leslie Dias, Unifor National Airlines Director.

On June 7, the Committee represented members at the quarterly held Union-Management Headquarters Meeting (UMHQ). We met with company executives representing Airports, Contact Centers, Customer Relations and Labour Relations and we took this opportunity to make it clear that, in no uncertain terms, members of Unifor must be treated as equals to our Air Canada colleagues working under the IAM Collective Agreement. Unifor will not look the other way.

We presented the company with specific issues and concerns provided by the District Chairpersons where action and changes are needed in the workplace(s). The Company heard our concerns and it is now up to the pertinent Air Canada departments to take away these details and rectify the issues. We believe we succeeded in setting the tone that Unifor will always show up, be well prepared, and be united in solidarity.

On June 8, the Bargaining Committee met again for the quarterly Monitoring and Measuring (M&M) meeting with management from Contact Centers, Customer Relations and Labour Relations. We raised issues specific to these workplaces and look forward to communicating with the membership as we make progress on various issues. Tracy Rector, the newly elected Atlantic region Bargaining Representative, will be Chairperson of the quarterly M&M meetings. The UMHQ and M&M meeting minutes will be sent to District Chairperson shortly, and made available to the membership.

We also want to extend our deepest gratitude and thanks to the outgoing Bargaining Committee members. They served the membership admirably, and set a great example for the new members of the Committee to follow. These hardworking Unifor members include Cheryl Robinson (Atlantic), David Peng (Central), and Steve Murphy (Pacific).


In solidarity,

Unifor/Air Canada Bargaining Committee,
Benoit Lapointe – Chairperson, Eastern Region
Tracy Rector – Atlantic Region
Harold Bateman – Central Region
Joanne Goulet – Western Region
Soppo Gomez Gnali – Pacific Region
Tammy Moore – President, Unifor Local 2002
Frances Galambosy – Unifor National Service Representative, Airline Sector
Leslie Dias – Unifor Director, Airlines Sector



22-06-13 AC Greetings and update EN.txt

#Unifor #AirCanada #Bargaining #Union