Unifor Local 2002 members at SkyLink Express ratify their first collective agreement

Unifor Local 2002 members at SkyLink Express ratify their first collective agreement

March 30, 2023 at 5:30 PM

Unifor Local 2002 is pleased to announce that our pilot members at SkyLink Express have ratified their first collective agreement.  Ratification meetings were held on March 29th and 30th with 59.3% voting in favour of accepting the agreement.

This new agreement provides our members with important language for a first agreement and provides a strong foundation that will be continued to be built on over the years to come. Some examples include language for bidding of vacancies for both current and new aircraft types, scope work, system and base seniority, layoff and recall rights provisions, training, and scheduled guaranteed days off in a 28-day shift schedule.

This agreement also provides for monetary improvements including overtime provisions, as well as a salary grid. This membership was firm that the inequities that had existed in base pay rates between the different work locations were not acceptable. This collective agreement addresses those concerns and includes immediate wage increases between 7.5% and 12%.

“It’s been a long road for our highly skilled pilots, and they were determined to get a fair and equitable agreement that reflects the current tough economic times, said Tammy Moore, President Unifor Local 2002”.  “Special thank you to the pilots' unity and the bargaining committee for securing our first collective agreement.  This agreement will see improved quality of life and job security for our hardworking members.”

The bargaining committee would like to thank the membership for their support throughout the entire negotiation process and their show of unity and support.

In Solidarity,

Your Unifor Bargaining Committee
Andrew Henry, Bargaining Committee Member
Denise Cochrane, Assistant to the Local 2002 President
Zoltan Czippel – Unifor National Representative
Bruce Snow, Unifor – Assistant to the National Officers